Roles and Permissions

ProKnow DS allows you to customize “roles” that will determine the set of user permissions related to various organization settings and system resources. Common tasks such as accessing, uploading, viewing, editing, and downloading patient data are controlled through roles.

A role is intended to be shared by a group of users, but can also be designed as user-specific (i.e., a unique role set up for an individual user). An organization can define as many roles as necessary to support all of their ProKnow DS users.

Permissions may be granted across all ProKnow DS workspaces or at the individual workspace level. “All workspaces” permissions might be granted to system administrators, data managers, network chiefs, clinical trials leaders, etc. Individual workspace-level permissions might apply to a clinician who works at a standalone clinic, where that clinic has a dedicated workspace.

There is also a special “Collaborator” status that can be defined for a role. It can be set for any specific workspace, or across all workspaces. Users with the role of Collaborator will only have access to patients (1) that they created or uploaded (e.g., an outside physician who you are doing contouring or peer review for) or (2) for whom they have been granted explicit access (e.g., an outside expert who you would like to be able to review or modify your patient). Collaborator roles can have low-level permissions turned on/off for certain tasks, such as viewing PHI, downloading data, contouring, etc.